top of page

Externships for Nursing Students

CURRENTLY, I am working at a hospital in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit (SICU). You may ask, "How are you working at a hospital already? Have you graduated nursing school yet?" The answer is no. You then may ask, "Are you working as a CNA?" Well, not exactly. In this article, I will explain what an externship is, how I got my externship, and how you can apply for one too.

What is a nurse externship?

A nurse externship is a temporary training program where hospitals hire nursing students to shadow and/or perform skills with a nurse. I like to say it's like clinicals, but you are getting paid. In an externship, you may be able to do certain skills under the supervision of a nurse. Be aware that hospitals may have different job descriptions on what nurse externs can and cannot do. For example, some hospitals may not allow nurse externs to pass out medications. You may be able to perform skills such as assessments on patients, CNA-type duties, insert foleys, place IVs, and more!

What are the hours like for nurse externs?

Nurse externs work 12-hour shifts. The amount of times you work in a week or month depends on the hospital. Generally, the work schedule for nurse externs are flexible. Managers over nurse extern programs tend to be lenient on work schedules because they are aware that nurse externs are still in nursing school. In my externship, we are required to work 24 hours total in a 2-week span (Two 12 hours shifts within two weeks)

What is the pay like for a nurse extern?

Pay for nurse externs depends on the hospital and the area you live in. I have seen pay for nurse externs range from $13 to $15 an hour.

How did you get an externship?

At my university, our instructors post job opportunities for nursing students. I found my externship through that. I applied in January, interviewed in March, and got the job in the same month. I started in June.

How do I apply for an externship?

Sign up for job postings from hospitals in your area. If you have a particular hospital you would like to work at, see if they have a nurse externship program and look for when their applications open. For most externships, you have to complete med-surg before applying. Also, make good relationships with professors just in case recommendations are needed for the application process. Now that you know what an externship is and how to apply for one, you are now ready to take your nursing skills beyond clinicals! I wish you the best of luck!

futurenursehappiness

bottom of page